top of page
Search
  • bill

Day 50 : Rocky Mountain High!

After a rest day of hiking, we were ready to attack the mountains with our newly repaired bikes. I swear, burt has never felt smoother (longtime readers may remember burt is the name of my bike). Looking at the mountains as we left Ft. Collins, I was a little apprehensice, though I was relieved we were out of the flatlands. Remembering Kentucky, I had thought that flat land would be my savior, but it really was just a good time for me to catch up on my audiobooks. I was ready for the beauty and challenges of the mountain. We rode a little further north, where we began our cross of the Rockies through Poudre Canion. It was absolutely stunning, and I realized something I had been told before... That the people in the Appalachians really didn't know how to make a road. Instead of going over the mountains, this road curved and wound it's ways around the bases, providing a gentle increase to 9000 feet that over 60 miles actually felt pleasant. I could have biked all day. We are finally realizing how far we have progressed.  Just a month and a half ago we were worried about a day of 2000 feet elevation gain at sea level, whereas now we are climbing at 9000 feet and it is not a problem at all. 


We had another one of our housing adventures, when we realized the Aspen Glen campground we had booked was different from the aspen glen along the pathway, but it was ok, there was vacancy in the one on the road, so it all worked out. Next to the campground was a stream, and we all went for a swim! Well, swim is a strong word, we stepped in the water and immediately realized just how cold mountain streams are. On the plus side, it gave us a good way to ice our sore bodies!


Anyways, today was overall a good day.


Peace and love,


Bill





79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page