top of page
Search
  • bill

Day 26: Going home!

Today was a pretty good day, we started out on a nice, flat ride. It was also time to enter a new state, my home, Illinois! It was a beautiful day, and we had a great picnic lunch in Old Shawneetown, the oldest town in Illinois. There, my group was greeted by an ambush by Leah, who had bought a bunch of squirt guns, by far the best purchase of the trip. We also found a black dog, who we promptly named Pringles, after the staple of a good spokes lunch.


Later today, after what I thought were just empty threats, it happened. My mom came to visit with my aunt and cousin! They were supposed to arrive last night, but their car kept breaking down, so they were not able to come meet us until after lunch. The plan was to meet us at our host’s house, but as we were biking down the highway, we saw my mom, who promptly left her car in the middle of the on-ramp to come say hello! (Its all good, no cars were coming and my aunt moved the car quickly) It was great to see her, as I won’t be home until thanksgiving.


At the house later that night, we had delicious Italian sandwiches for dinner. After that, we had a Spokes Jam session, with Evan playing angry Russian piano music while Maile taught people to Hula and Edgardo played Pink Floyd on the guitar, all at the same time. After this, Edgardo taught us all to Salsa, so watch out world, you see some of us on so you think you can dance next season!


Anyways, I am in a real bed tonight, and am tired, so see you all in a little bit.

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page