top of page
Search
  • Edgardo

Day 20: A taste of the South

Today was a rather interesting day! We biked approx. 40 miles which was not that much but one of the biking groups stopped at a garage sale and they got to buy many interesting things!

They thought these were mini cups but they were actually candle holders

Also they got this pants for Devin! (I honestly think that these are women’s pants)

Lunch time!

Also, today was the first time I went to a Cracker Barrel! We originally decided to go to a nice place that was 20 minutes away by car. We went to the place but the group saw a Cracker Barrel and everyone insisted on going! They told me that it was going to change the way I see the United States… and it did.

At Cracker Barrel!

I was impressed because it was the very first time I saw that you had to go through a gift shop before entering the restaurant, which for me is the perfect selling strategy. While they make you wait for a table, you can check out all the things that the gift shop has to offer. After we got a table and ordered, I checked out the decorations in the restaurant. This was really American, and it gave a taste of the South that Erin has been explaining to me so far. Evan, Caralyn and I got to play with the pin game that is in every cracker barrel table, and we couldn’t leave less than 3 pins (by the game rules we were just playing dumb :c )


One thing that amazed me as part of the southern culture showed in Cracker Barrel was that almost everything was fried (even the vegetables and apples) and there was a dessert that had coke in it! I was joking with the team that after that meal my arteries would clog a little bit.


The lady that took our order was really nice and she gave us a bunch of biscuits and jelly for free! That was a great gesture that confirmed me what Erin told me: In the south people are really friendly and nice with each other!

That was the tag with the biscuits :')

Apparently these chairs are in all Cracker Barrels

After Cracker Barrel, we went to DQ and again it was my first time there. I really liked the Oreo ice cream!

This was at DQ :3

Tomorrow we have our longest day so far 78 miles! I hope I can survive it!



75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page