top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecaralyn

Day 10: Creating a family ❤️

Tues, June 4


What happens when you put 7 (soon to be 8, once Evan joins us) young adults together in physical and mental close quarters for three months? We'll see! We now know only what happens after 10 days - and let me tell you, it's been a hell of a ride already.

After two short days, a family was founded. The focus of this blog post was going to be to elaborate on all of the members of our little clan, but I'm already late, so I'm just going to do a focus feature on a few.


I'll give you a peek into the conversation that has been causing us to laugh way too much over the past week ... like seriously, so much too much that at some point the laughter just propagates itself perpetually. We need help, probably


Leah is our Mom. Hers was the first identity to be discovered, because she is so completely the mom of the group. She organizes us, takes care of us, and is probably often frustrated by her children (us). These photos show variously: mom doing a cool pose by a topographical map, mom fixing her shoe cleat (the part that clips the shoe into the pedal), mom taking a cool angled selfie with Devin, mom cautiously posing on a tall rock, and mom watching the gear while an errand is run. Just some examples of the thorough, organized, and careful, but still very fun and engaged personality that makes Leah our mother!


~~~~~


I (Caralyn) am the crazy aunt. As the actual oldest in the group at 23, it felt right for me to be an older relative. Since I'm a bit of a status quo challenger and like to sing to the tempo of my own metronome, I'm apparently an aunt of the crazy variety. Obviously honored by the title! As Leah's sister I also get to annoy her, so it's a double win! The photos are of me failing to lift my bike above my head, cutting Edgardo's hair (a sick fade), sunning myself on a rock, modeling some neon yellow rainwear, using a snickers as a jam spreader, and then realizing the genius of a snickers in a PB&J wrap. Happy to be on this trip with all my nieces and nephews!


~~~~~



Last but not least for today is Evan! He always seems to be in the bathroom, is usually either riding in the other group or drafting far behind me, and takes up very little space in the tents. Since we don't see him very much, we all drew pictures of what we imagine he is doing! The photos are of us riding (he's drafting behind me, taking the photo), three artistic renderings of him hogging the bathroom for hours, and him in his biking gear!


...Ok actually Evan is graduating this Friday!!!! He stayed at MIT for two extra weeks, and e's flying in on Saturday to join up with the group. We're very happy for him and excited for him to join us!


~~~~~

Everyone else in the group is a child of Leah, a niece or nephew of me, and a younger sibling of Evan. More features from oldest to youngest will follow. We have our dysfunctions and our quirks, but we're a family!

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page